The Internet is such a life drainer.

What should I be doing right now instead of writing this blog post? Studying for my Social exam tomorrow. I tried to study, I really did. It was just so boring and I got sick of it and the internet was so alluring. I hate to say it, but I may be an internet addict. It’s horrible.

I can’t even tell you how many times I go on the internet in a day. Even if my computer’s off or there isn’t a computer around, I can always use my iPod. There’s just so much going on online. I have to check Facebook, or Twitter, or Youtube, or any variety of random things on the internet. It’s kind of ironic how all of these networking websites make us spend more time on the computer looking at them, as opposed to actually face to face interacting with other people.

Before, I used to read a lot of books. Like a ton of books. At least a book a week and, sometimes if I was in a particularly read-y mood, 10 books in a week.

These days I’ve found that I just don’t have the time for them any more. Or that I don’t want to put the effort into reading. Lazy… It’s so much easier to go mooch around on the computer for a couple of hours instead of actively doing something, like reading. It’s depressing and I know I should spend my time more productively. But, somehow, I just can’t muster up the energy required to actually do stuff like that.

I’m in grade 12 now, which means I have a lot more on my plate than I did before. I have diplomas coming, I have to study, I have to look for a job, I have to start applying for schools, I have to find a grad dress… There’s all this pressure and it’s so much easier to waste time online as opposed to actually doing something beneficial, because that would actually require effort and brain power.

My point is that I spend so much more time on the Internet that I do doing things that require me to actively do something other than click or vege out. So I’ve decided to limit my internet useage, and it’s kind of lame that I’ve gotten to the point where I have to do that. I’m thinking that an hour a day is more than enough. I want to start spending more time doing what I used to before I became an internet whore. Oh, and I need to start arts and craftsing since Christmas is coming up fast. I’m too poor to buy everyone a gift and hand making shit takes a lot of time.

So, I guess this is farewell to the me who sits at the computer for hours on end. See you around, loser!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

