Grad Banquet Blues

Grad is coming up fast and I’ve got quite the dilemma on my hands. I am debating whether I should go to the grad banquet or not. I mean, if you think about it, it’s just an overpriced, overhyped, dinner and dance.

Dresses are at least $300. And it’s not like grad dresses are something that you can wear more than once. They’re like a one time use object that you pay a ton of money for. There is so much other stuff that I could buy with that money. Stuff that I would actually use and continue to use. As opposed to a dress that I would wear for what? 6 hours? And it would spend the rest of it’s life trapped in a closet or hanging on the racks of a thrift store.

Then, after you’ve bought you expensive dress, you need shoes, hair, makeup, a limo, flowers, gifts… All this shit. Plus, tickets to eat there each cost $65. So if you’ve got a lot of family members, then that’s another shitload of money that’s thrown down a drain.

Moreover, I only talk to maybe 6 people at my school. They’d probably spend the night busy with their families and me with mine. But it’d be hard to talk to them in the giant crush of people in the room. A sweaty, noisy, potentially smelly crush of people. Ew.

This banquet is really just another day. A ridiculously overpriced day. Honestly, I think that I would be happier staying at home instead of going. Plus, I wouldn’t really regret going because it’s not like anything really happens. You take pictures, you eat, you go get wasted in some field, you throw up the $65 worth of food… Not exactly my idea of a fun night.

Geh. I know I’ll have to make a decision about going soon… I just don’t want to~

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Random, Rants

Leave a Reply

